top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWendy Matheka

Curried Chickpeas & Spinach

You guys already know chickpeas are among my favorite things to eat! I especially love the versatility and flavor of these beans. Since I’ve already shared a falafel recipe and a hummus recipe, I thought the next chickpea dream I should share would be this curry that is a favorite for me, my Mum and my sister.

One thing about chickpeas (in curries) they go fantastic with black pepper and coconut cream/milk. I cannot stress this enough! If you plan on making a chickpea curry please just have these on hand. One other thing that makes this curry I’m about to share shine is spinach -trust me, spinach is sooooo good with chickpeas you wouldn’t even believe it! Before I go on and on about chickpeas let’s get started with the recipe.



Ingredients:

  • 1 big white onion

  • 2 cloves garlic

  • 2 big tomatoes

  • 1 bunch dhania

  • 250g chickpeas (soak overnight & boil then it should be 500g once boiled)

  • 1 small bunch spinach

  • 1 heaped tablespoon coconut cream

  • 1 tsp cumin powder

  • 1 tsp curry powder

  • ½ tsp turmeric powder

  • Salt to taste

  • Black pepper to taste

  • 1 tbsp oil


Method:

  1. Add oil into a sufuria as well as the chopped onion, minced garlic, chopped dhania stems and cook until the onions soften and the mixture becomes aromatic.

  2. Add in chopped tomatoes, salt, cumin, curry and turmeric and mix well. Add some water and cover to let simmer and cook until the tomatoes soften.

  3. Next add the boiled chickpeas and some water cover and let cook for 5 minutes.

  4. Add the coconut cream and mix well until completely incorporated then add the roughly chopped spinach, mix and let simmer further for 5 minutes.

  5. Turn the heat off and add the chopped dhania leaves mix, then finally add some black pepper to your taste and mix.

  6. Serve hot with rice, naan, chapati or any flat bread of choice.



This recipe is fast, easy and doesn’t compromise on flavor. When you make this recipe, don’t forget to snap a photo and share with me on my socials! I’ll be so happy to see how it turns out. Until next time, stay safe and nakupenda 🥰


25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page