top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWendy Matheka

Homemade Hobnobs (Oat & Coconut Cookies)

If I had to choose between having cookies or cake for the rest of my life I'd choose cookies without further thought! In fact, I'd choose these cookies because you can never go wrong with oats and coconuts, PERIODT!!



In December, I got a package from Kentaste that had coconut oil, coconut cream, coconut milk, desiccated coconut and a t-shirt. When I saw the desiccated coconut I knew for sure I wanted to make coconut cookies. I wasn't sure if I wanted to make NICE inspired cookies or to bake bootleg hobnobs. Yesterday I made the decision and went for the hobnobs. I used the coconut cream to make this coconut and strawberry ice cream and after typing this blog post and posting on my instagram I'm gonna have this ice cream and the cookies together and I don't want you to miss out!

So now that you have the ice cream recipe, here is the long awaited recipe for these oat and coconut cookies.



Prep Time: 10 mins | Bake Time: 25 mins | Total Time: 35 mins | Yield: 32 cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 ¼ cups all purpose flour

  • ½ cup Kentaste desiccated coconut

  • ½ cup rolled oats

  • ¾ cup sugar

  • ¼ tsp salt

  • 1 tbsp baking powder

  • 1 cup vegan margarine/butter (I used goldband)

  • ½ cup soy milk

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Method

  1. Preheat your oven to 180° C.

  2. In a bowl, mix together all the dry ingredients until well combined.

  3. Next, add in the margarine/butter and mix until the mixture is crumbly and almost resembling bread crumbs.

  4. Add the soy milk and vanilla extract and knead the mixture into a soft but non-sticky dough.

  5. Roll the dough into a rectangle about 1 cm thick and use a cookie cutter or if you broke like me use a cup/tumbler to cut the cookies into circles. You can also use a knife anc cut the cookies into squares or rectangles.

  6. Place the cookies on a baking tray lined with parchment/baking paper and bake for 20-25 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.

  7. Once they're ready let them to cool on the baking tray for 5 minutes and later on a wire rack for another 10 minutes.

  8. Enjoy them with some tea, coffee, milk or some ice cream like me.



And just like that you have a lovely stack of crunchy, delicious, buttery cookies. Plus! you don't have to spend all your coins buying hobnobs and that's a win in my book :) I hope you enjoy baking these cookies and that you and your people love them as much as the people in this house and I do!

When you make them, please share it with me on my Instagram, I'd love to see how they turn out!

Until next time, nawapenda sana!



36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page