top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWendy Matheka

Cumin & Thyme Butter Bean Patty



I love burgers in all shapes sizes and forms! Being a Kenyan vegan, it proved important to learn how to make my own burgers from home because veggie burgers in most Kenyan restaurants are either bland or vegetarian not vegan. Another reason I went on the quest of burger making is because funny enough I met countless people who didn’t think there existed a burger outside meat based ones. Someone literally once asked me ‘unakulaje burger na we ni vegan?’ and I was shook hahaha.

Among my many vegan burger recipes I choose to share this the first because it’s the one that I had instantly gotten right without too many tries and retries. In this post I will only show you how to make the patty which can be used on your burgers, or even their own with a tofu scramble or baked potatoes for breakfast.




For this recipe I use two types of butter beans: black & white. Butter beans are also known as Lima Beans or Noe Beans in the soko. I used them both because I love the texture of the white butter beans so much and the flavors of both beans go so well together despite their diffrernces. You can get these beans at any well stocked supermarket, the soko or your local cereal wholesaler. I used dry beans as opposed to canned ones which means I have to soak them overnight and boil them the next day for use.


black vs. white butter beans

So without more mastories, twende kazi!

Prep Time: 10 mins | Cook Time: 25 mins | Total Time: 35 mins | Yield: 6 patties

Ingredients:

2 cups boiled butter beans (mixed black and white)

¼ cup breadcrumbs

½ cup leftover rice

2 tbsp all purpose flour

1 tsp thyme

2 tbsp oil + more for cooking the patties

1 tsp cumin seeds

1 red onion (chopped)

2 cloves garlic (roughly chopped)

1 bunch dhania

Red, Green & Yellow peppers (1/3rd of each chopped)

2 tbsp soy sauce

Salt to taste

Directions:

1. In a sufuria or pan, heat 2 tbsp of oil and add the cumin seeds. Let them toast until they begin to splatter and become aromatic.

2. Add the onions, garlic, dhania stems and chopped rasta colored peppers. Saute them for a minute or two until they become soft and aromatic then turn off the heat.

3. In a food processor, all remaining ingredients plus the sautéed veggies and dhania leaves. Blend them until they’re well mixed and incorporated.

4. Scoop about 2-3 tbsps of the mixture and shape them into 6 patties.

5. Heat up oil on a pan and pan fry each patty on both sides for about 2 ½ minutes on each side until they’re golden brown and crunchy.

Assemble them as part of your burgers or have them as they are with breakfast or even broken down in a salad.



68 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page