top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWendy Matheka

Matoke Mash Minus the PTSD



I know I'm not the only one who grew up hating the green banana and potatoes cooked in meat sauce that as ever so often shoved down our throats. I grew to dislike matoke so much that could only eat them if they were matoke crisps.

Fast forward to 2020 and my friend Winnie came over to visit with matoke saying that she doesn't know how to cook them and that I should do my job and then share the recipe with her. And that's exactly what I did and I'm so glad I developed this recipe for all of you to try and get rid of your matoke PTSD and find a new love for them. After trying this I'm even more open to trying more matoke recipes in the future.


Here's a MAJOR S/O to friends who bring you fresh produce and food when they visit.


Before we begin, note that in this recipe you will be required to use either fenugreek seeds or methi/fenugreek seeds. Fenugreek seeds can be found in any well-stocked supermarket (bought mine at Carrefour wholesale section). Methi leaves, on the other hand, can be found for about 25 bob a bunch at Zucchini stores. If you will use the seeds add them at your last five minutes because they begin to have a bitter taste if they cook for too long. If you're using methi leaves you can add them along with your dhania stems. I prefer using the seeds as I usually have them around the house for use in deep conditioners.


Prep Time: 10 mins | Cook Time: 20 mins |Total Time: 30 mins | Yield: serves 3

Ingredients:

8 big raw green bananas (matoke)

1 large onion (chopped)

3 cloves garlic (minced or grated)

1 bunch dhania

1 tsp mustard seeds

1/2 tsp cumin seeds

1 tsp turmeric

1 tsp fenugreek seeds / 3 sprigs methi leaves

salt to taste

2 tbsp oil

1 cup of water


Method:

1. Generously oil your hands and your knife's blade before peeling your matoke to help prevent the latex from sticking and making clean up a nightmare. Peel and cut the matoke into 1 inch thick slices and keep them in water immediately to prevent greying caused by oxidization.

2. Heat oil in a sufuria and add mustard and cumin seeds and allow to the toast until they begin to splatter and become aromatic.

3. Add your onions, garlic and dhania stems and saute until they're soft and fragrant.

4. Next, add in some turmeric and water and cook for about minute.

5. Add your matoke and the rest of the water, stir and cover. Let this cook for about 12 minutes. Add the fenugreek seeds, stir and let this cook further for 5 minutes. By now your matoke should be soft enough to mash add in your chopped dhania (and methi leaves if using) and mash. Serve this with your curry and vegetable of choice. I love using ndengu and cabbage.

And that's it! I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do! Don't forget to tag my socials (@yumborghini.ke) when you give this a try, I'd love to see how it went!

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page